Life thru a laptop

So, I previously bemoaned my tendency to spend too much of my life checking emails, surfing the Internet, playing on Facebook.

Things have got much, much worse.  I’ve realised that I am now living 90% of my waking life on my laptop.

So far I haven’t found a reliable source of daily news (by which I mean news on which the top story is not someone stealing a Chicago bus as it was the other day on the 9pm CBS news) at a convenient time on radio or TV.  I’m sure I’ll crack this soon, but in the meantime, it’s all about the BBC and the Guardian websites.  I am now compulsive about checking the Today programme running order.

Then, I haven’t quite figured out where anywhere around here really is, or how to get there.  Back online to google maps and the frankly rubbish public transit planning tool that forgot to change its schedules on Labor Day.

Want to watch TV?  At least until the Fall season really gets going, there’s precious little on broadcast channels (and we keep missing the first 10 minutes of Nikita), so it’s back to the laptop for Netflix streamed episodes of Arrested Development.

I’ve also just made the switch from taking research notes on paper, which I clung onto for ages because I find the process more pleasant and hate lugging my computer to the library, to doing the lugging and typing them straight into Word, which seems more efficient.

Buying cheap furniture and household stuff when you don’t have a car: online shopping at Target and Amazon is clearly the way to go.  Even though it takes three times as long as real life shopping, because you have to peer critically at all the tiny pictures.

Then there’s calling my family – why do it on your landline when Skype is free?

And on, and on, and on.  I love my laptop, but we need some time apart.

About scepticalexpat

British 30something wannabe academic, moving to Chicago for three years in August 2010.
This entry was posted in academia, relocating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

