Static

No one ever warned us about the static.  We were expecting the snow, the car culture, the huge food portions.  But who knew static electricity was going to be such a daily irritation?

From my unscientific perspective I have three potential culprits: the relative dryness here; the fact that I’m wearing rubber-soled boots almost constantly; the cheap carpets in the entrance to our building.  Whichever it is, I’m getting multiple shocks a day on switches, handrails, and every time I kiss M randomly.  It is less erotic than it sounds.

About scepticalexpat

British 30something wannabe academic, moving to Chicago for three years in August 2010.
This entry was posted in relocating. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Static

  1. Expat Mum says:

    It drives me batty. I have to open the car door with my sleeve over my hand. Every time I touch the 7 year old he almost explodes; it’s really painful.

  2. Lynn says:

    I don’t know why, but this is the kind of detail that fascinates me about expat blogs. I’ve lived in northern New England all my life; static has driven me crazy to some extent every winter since childhood. But it would never occur to me to tell someone moving here from Britain, or Florida for that matter, about it and to be emotionally prepared. We can survive the blizzards, I guess, but it’s the little things that’ll do us in eventually. Thanks for the laugh.

  3. Lynn says:

    Sorry, got caught up in the cultural comparison, when some practical ideas might be helpful: definitely use a humidifier 24/7 in the house and at work if possible, I like warm mist better than cool mist; a little conditioner or hand lotion rubbed on your hands will help with your hair after you take off your hat; I’m not a fan of fabric softeners, but they can be helpful just these few months; and Static-Free in the aerosol can smells obnoxious but used judiciously can help get you through the day as well. And no shuffling in the house.

  4. awindram says:

    WAIT!!! This happens to other people?!! I thought it was just me. Used to happen all the time when i was in Philadelphia – not so much on the West Coast. Thought I might have been developing super powers!

Leave a Reply

