Things I miss about Britain no. 7: mini milks

What is a mini milk?

It is not ice cream.

It is not sorbet.

Its texture is denser than sorbet, more icy than ice cream.

It comes in a minimalist three flavours – vanilla, strawberry and chocolate – all of which taste utterly wholesome, milky and sweet. Its modest size and paper wrapping make it clear that it was conceived in an age before today’s superinflated Magnum foil-encased behemoths.

But today I learn that it was, in fact, born a year after me, in 1976.

It always had a joke printed on the wooden stick. This marked it out as an ice lolly for children, not a sophisticated icecream for adults.

But in my older years I learned that it had a mere 30 calories and was, therefore, the perfect snack for the calorie conscious heat sensitive woman.

Oh mini milk. How will I survive the summer without you?

About scepticalexpat

British 30something wannabe academic, moving to Chicago for three years in August 2010.
This entry was posted in food, Things I miss about Britain and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things I miss about Britain no. 7: mini milks

  1. Expat Mum says:

    Gosh, I can’t even remember them, but then we weren’t allowed many sweets as kids! Obviously missed something yummy!

  2. Me says:

    Try a fudgesicle

Leave a Reply

