The Superbowl… in food

Everything that I ever posted is now, more or less, a hazy memory. Such has been my neglect of the blog. But I don’t think I ever posted about the Superbowl, despite our friend J’s earnest efforts to explain American football to us back in 2011.

This year we stayed at home Sunday night and concentrated on the TV ads, the singing of the National Anthem (Alicia Keyes at her showiest), and Beyonce ripping off her clothes among fireworks in the halftime spectacle. I didn’t even pretend to follow the game, leaving the room every time the camera focussed on the field.

Then I discovered that there is a totally different, arguably revolting, but inspiringly creative way to enjoy the Superbowl: making your own stadium tableau out of snacks. I did realise that snacking while watching the Superbowl was something of a big deal after every shop I went into for the past couple of weeks had jumbo packs of chilli, tortilla chips, you name it. But I had never heard of this tradition before, so here, dear reader, I present you with a selection of links for your delectation and edification.

Here’s the one that launched me on my voyage of discovery, from Time Out Chicago:

413.superbowlguide.stadium11xSS

Here’s one from 2011, with the Green Bay Packers’ name piped in sour cream on a ground of cheese dip:

20110131-stadium-packers

 

One retch-inducingly featuring footballers made out of hot dogs and helmets made out of cheese:

1.-Another-Good-Finished

And finally, one from TV chef Mario Batali which, in this context, looks restrained, tasteful and even healthy:

394958_10151267970893325_1539159639_n

 

About scepticalexpat

British 30something wannabe academic, moving to Chicago for three years in August 2010.
This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Superbowl… in food

  1. OwlMcCloud says:

    Sooo creative and amazing!

Leave a Reply

